Details

ZWILLING Four Star 8-inch Chef's Knife

Variations
  • (no colour)
YOU SAVE: -20%
125.00 $99.99
Add to cart options
Product Actions

In Stock

YOU SAVE: -20%
125.00 $99.99
ZWILLING J.A. Henckels Four Star 8-inch Chef's Knife is rated 4.8 out of 5 by 48.
  • y_2020, m_3, d_30, h_19
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.5
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_18, tr_30
  • loc_en_US, sid_31071-203, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_zwillingonline
  • bvseo_sdk, dw_cartridge, 17.1.0, p_sdk_3.2.0
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 90ms
  • reviews, product
In Stock Free Shipping for Orders over $59
Ships within 1-2 days
Item No. 31071-203
ZWILLING Four Star 8-inch Chef's Knife
$125.00 $99.99
Added to basket View basket checkout
Additional Information

FOUR STAR is the top-selling knife series of ZWILLING J.A. Henckels worldwide. Honed and hand-finished by the most skilled artisans, this celebrated collection is the model of safety, ergonomics, and comfort. Thanks to their seamless transition from bolster to handle, the knives are comfortable to use for long periods of time. The bolster provides the right balance while acting as a safe finger guard.

The knives are made of proprietary special formula steel that has been perfected for over 280 years. Combined with ZWILLING's signature ice-hardening technique, these FRIODUR blades are harder, sharper, they will NOT STAIN or chip and they retain their sharpness longer. Precision-forged from a single piece of steel, the SIGMAFORGE knives have an exceptionally sturdy, balanced and flexible blade.

  • Manufactured in Germany
  • Special formula high carbon NO STAIN steel
  • SIGMAFORGE knife is forged from a single piece of solid steel
  • Ice-hardened FRIODUR blade starts sharper, stays sharper longer, and has superior resilience
  • Precision-honed blade and laser-controlled edge ensures ideal cutting angle for sharpness and durability
  • Ergonomic polypropylene handles permanently bonded for seamless accuracy and gaps
  • 57 Rockwell Hardness = excellent edge retention
  • Edge angle 15 degrees per side
Charasteristics
  • Country of origin: Germany
  • Substance: German Stainless Steel
  • Type of handle: exposed tang
  • Type of edge: Fine Edge
  • Edge finishing: V-edge
  • Manufacturing method: forged
  • Blade hardness (HRC): 55-58 HRC
Measurements
  • Net weight: 0.74 lbs
  • Blade length: 7.87 in
  • Handle length: 4.53 in
ZWILLING J.A. Henckels Four Star 8-inch Chef's Knife is rated 4.8 out of 5 by 48.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from As perfect as the 8" but a pinch smaller This has become my "other" favorite knife since purchasing a year ago. My favorite is the 8" version. The price was so fair that I had to have it. The 7" blade opens up versatile uses such as paring with the heel of the blade near the bolster and mincing shallots and garlic with the tip since the shorter blade is easy to control. if you don't have a lot of room to prep food but still want a full and solid chef knife, this is perfect. The handle is very comfortable to hold on to for hours on end. I hope that this 40 year Anniversary knife with its amazing price will encourage cooks to try out a great product.
Date published: 2018-03-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 34 years and still going! I bought this knife after starting my first job out of college. My friends and family thought I was crazy. I also bought a 4" pairing knife and a steel. To this day, both the 10" is my #1 trusted knife. It cuts, slices, crushes - it is an extension of my right hand in the kitchen. I have 13 Henckels knives, including 3 Miyabi (a Birchwood, a Morimoto and a Kaizen), 3 Mikado, one Pro "S" and two "cheap" Henckels. My four-star knives are my favorites and my three work horses: the 10" Chef's, 6" utility, and 4" paring. If you want a knife that will never let you down, get this one!
Date published: 2018-07-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The workhorse of all knife tasks This has been my favorite knife for decades. I used to baby it and keep it for home use only but recently have been using it daily at work. Zwilling boasts that the knife has been made exactly the same from day one in the 70's as it is now. This is the most durable knife that I have ever used and owned. The blade is tapered to a whisper thin bevel and stays sharp as it is easy to hone and sharpen when needed. If you require a solid and nearly maintenance free knife I highly recommend Four Star knives.
Date published: 2018-03-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Supremely sharp My Son bought this for me several years ago for my birthday. I've had an original set of Chicago Cutlery knives that I purchased in 1978, that I still use daily (I love to cook). The J.A. Henkle knife is much superior and I've kept it reserved for special use like slicing fresh tomatoes...wish I could an entire set!! Superior in every way to all the other knives I've ever owned!
Date published: 2019-07-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great chef knife The Four Star 8" chef is a work horse that I will have in my kitchen forever. The molded handle is lite and doesn't slip. The steel construction and quality make this knife sharp and it keeps it's edge really well. A little honing once a week and it will be there for you forever.
Date published: 2020-03-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from NEXT UP Essential knife to have in a kitchen. Very light, performs task great giving you complete control. Resin handle makes for worry free in dishwasher.
Date published: 2020-03-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great all purpose knife The ultimate all purpose knife, you can use this knife for anything. It has a nice lightweight feel to it so it doesn’t get tiring using it in your hand. The stainless steel construction is really great, you can tell you're using a solid knife that is going to be durable for a long time. My grandparents have had this knife for going on 10 years and still works just as well as it did when they first got it.
Date published: 2020-03-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Four Stars **** Classic style of knife with a great handle for smaller hands. This knife feels very secure in the hand yet performs as well as any other of the Zwilling premium 8" chefs
Date published: 2020-03-25
  • y_2020, m_3, d_30, h_19
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.5
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_18, tr_30
  • loc_en_US, sid_31071-203, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_zwillingonline
  • bvseo_sdk, dw_cartridge, 17.1.0, p_sdk_3.2.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 22ms
  • reviews, product

I have this knife and it's been nice, is it a full tang?

Asked by: chefDre
Our Four Star knives have a full rat-tail tang.
Answered by: ZWILLING
Date published: 2020-03-20

How wide is this  knife at its widest point?

Asked by: CDV39
This knife is 1.5" at its widest.
Answered by: ZWILLING
Date published: 2019-10-21

Is a sheath sold for this knife other than the plastic sleeve in which it comes ?

Asked by: drayburg
Yes, you may shop our sheaths and other storage options here: https://www.zwillingonline.com/cutlery-zwilling-storage.html
Answered by: ZWILLING
Date published: 2018-06-12

I just received this knife as a gift, I can't wait to try it out, but can I get a blade cover anywhere?

Asked by: Kemp
Yes, you may shop sheaths and other storage options here: https://www.zwillingonline.com/cutlery-zwilling-storage.html
Answered by: ZWILLING
Date published: 2018-05-17

One of set I purchased on 11/24/2015 through BBB has broken tip while cutting fish. Can warranty cover replacement and return shipping label?

Asked by: Joon
You may review warranty information and claim instructions here: https://www.zwillingonline.com/warranty.html
Answered by: ZWILLING
Date published: 2018-05-08

Got my 31071-200 30 years ago for my birthday, was wrongly sharpened by a bad knife sharper who said he was familiar with sharpening chef`s knives.. now it has a bad V shape, can it be repaired?

Asked by: Elbert
Yes. If you're not savvy at sharpening yourself, you may want to show it to a professional who uses stones and belts. The blade can be thinned to bring the bevel back to where it needs to be. It depends on how much of the original steel has been removed though. You may end up with a smaller knife but in my experience, a belt is used to strip and polish a blade back into shape. I've given my knives to sharpeners who use grinding wheels and have had the same result receiving the knife with an aggressive V shaped bevel that dulls quickly. I've remedied that by spending a lot of time on whet stones. I learned my lesson!
Answered by: sick mick
Date published: 2018-03-05

I think this is the knife we need to replace, but how wide is the spine.

Asked by: Chemoangel
The spine is .1" (2.54 mm) thick.
Answered by: ZWILLING
Date published: 2017-09-28

I purchased one of these knives over 20 years ago. What was the angle of the blade back then?

Asked by: georgem
The angle of all our non-Asian blade styles are 15 degrees a side.
Answered by: ZWILLING
Date published: 2018-03-05
  • y_2020, m_3, d_30, h_19CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_3.0.5
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_10
  • loc_en_US, sid_31071-203, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_zwillingonline
  • bvseo_sdk, dw_cartridge, 17.1.0, p_sdk_3.2.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 88ms
  • questions, product