Details

ZWILLING Pro 6-inch Traditional Chef's Knife

Variations
  • (no colour)
YOU SAVE: -20%
150.00 $119.99
Add to cart options
Product Actions

In Stock

YOU SAVE: -20%
150.00 $119.99
ZWILLING Pro 6-inch Traditional Chef's Knife is rated 4.8 out of 5 by 23.
  • y_2020, m_3, d_28, h_15
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.5
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_1, tr_22
  • loc_en_US, sid_38401-163, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_zwillingonline
  • bvseo_sdk, dw_cartridge, 17.1.0, p_sdk_3.2.0
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 122ms
  • reviews, product
In Stock Free Shipping for Orders over $59
Ships within 1-2 days
Item No. 38401-163
ZWILLING Pro 6-inch Traditional Chef's Knife
$150.00 $119.99
Added to basket View basket checkout
Additional Information
ZWILLING Pro is the most user-friendly knife available to market. The unique blade shape and ergonomic bolster are the result of 280 years of experience in knife making, and the rigorous study of how knives are used. A unique curved bolster supports the professional pinch grip, with thumb and index finger on the blade, for safe cutting and less fatigue. The blade was redesigned with a broader curve in the front to facilitate the rocking motion of Western cutting, while the straight back is ideal for the Asian chopping motion. The full length of the blade can be used when cutting and can be sharpened from bolster to tip Designed in Italy by Matteo Thun and made in Germany by ZWILLING J.A. Henckels, the company that sets the standard for exceptional cutlery worldwide. With ZWILLING Pro we introduced an optimized chef's knife blade shape. Through years of experience in professional kitchens, some chefs have grown accustomed to and therefore prefer the traditional blade shape of the chef's knife. To enable these chefs to benefit from the new curved bolster, we have combined the innovative bolster shape with the classic blade shape.
  • Curved bolster encourages cutting with improved precision, safety and comfort
  • POM handle is durable and resiliant
  • SIGMAFORGE knife is forged from a single piece of Special Formula High-Carbon NO STAIN stainless steel
  • Ice-hardened FRIODUR blade starts sharper, stays sharper longer, and has superior resilience
  • Precision-honed blade and laser-controlled edge ensures ideal cutting angle for sharpness and durability
  • Full tang and handle are triple-riveted for superb stability
  • Dishwasher safe, had wash recommended
  • Manufactured in Germany
Charasteristics
  • Country of origin: Germany
  • Substance: Special Formula Steel
  • Type of handle: concealed tang
  • Type of edge: Fine Edge
  • Edge finishing: V-edge
  • Manufacturing method: forged
  • Blade hardness (HRC): 55-58 HRC
Measurements
  • Net weight: 0.73 lbs
  • Blade length: 6.30 in
  • Handle length: 4.53 in
ZWILLING Pro 6-inch Traditional Chef's Knife is rated 4.8 out of 5 by 23.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Chef Knife The traditional chef knife is a little narrower and less round than the Pro Chef. It makes it a little easier to perform some tasks while still having the amazing curved bolster. This is the workhorse knife that you will use every day, it will stay sharp and you will never have to replace it.
Date published: 2020-03-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The difference between the 8” Chef knife and this traditional 8” Chef knife is that this knife is narrower. And I actually prefer this knife over the other because of that fact. I break down a lot of large cuts of meat and can manage maneuvering around to get the cuts I’m looking for.
Date published: 2020-03-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A Narrow Pro Chef is nice! This narrow version of a Pro 8" chef is perfect for anyone who's not into wide knife. Not so small or not so big on their hand, at the same time you'll have perfect control for it's pinch grip knife. Comfortable, balanced size will quickly become the go-to knife for everyday tasks. It's the most easiest to sharpen for it's half bolster, nothing gets in the way no matter what you sharpened it either stone or machine.
Date published: 2020-03-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I bought this knife for my friend and her husband and they love it. I'm not surprise its a fabulous knife!
Date published: 2020-03-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I was so glad when Zwilling came out with this 8" Chef. The curve on the blade is slightly straighter than on the regular Pro Chef knife. It has all the features and beauty of the Pro line with a more streamlined look and feel. I like to rock when I cut but also like to chop and this blade enables me to do both.
Date published: 2020-03-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Exceptional I love, love, love the feel of this knife. Super comfortable handle. I use this knife for 80% of my food prep. Solid enough for cutting through chicken pieces and butternut squash, yet sharp and fine enough for slicing herbs and vegetables. I love this knife!!
Date published: 2020-03-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Perfect 8" Chef Workhorse of the kitchen and its my favorite gift to give for a new household, or some one who needs an all round, do everything knife. Made in Germany with special formula steel and ice hardened - all adds up to one durable, lasting knife.
Date published: 2020-03-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The Best Chef's Knife Pro 8" Chef's knife is my favorite knife. Really like the shape and quality. Feels like a Professional Knife and cuts, chops and slices perfectly.
Date published: 2020-03-25
  • y_2020, m_3, d_28, h_15
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.5
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_1, tr_22
  • loc_en_US, sid_38401-163, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_zwillingonline
  • bvseo_sdk, dw_cartridge, 17.1.0, p_sdk_3.2.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 10ms
  • reviews, product

zwilling pro 7 chef's knife can it cut chicken into half

Asked by: somi
Yes, this knife is appropriate for cutting cooked and/or raw chicken.
Answered by: ZWILLING
Date published: 2018-05-29

What is the factory recommended cutting edge angle for this model? I noticed other knives in this series are set at 15 degrees. Would sharpness last longer if set at 20 degrees?

Asked by: Adrian L
This knife has a blade angle of 15° on each side (for a total blade angle of 30°). The angle doesn't determine how long sharpness will last. You will have to maintain the edge (at 12°-15°) to keep the blade sharp.
Answered by: ZWILLING
Date published: 2018-05-01

I am interested in purchasing this Knife, Is the 8" measuring from tip to end point of cutting edge or to bolster where it join the plastic handle?

Asked by: JamieK
The knife is 8" long from bolster to tip.
Answered by: ZWILLING
Date published: 2017-11-30

Can you tell us about the steel? what is the hardness, what are the different materials that make up the steel?

Asked by: catalogcowboy
The formulation and treatment of our ZWILLING Special Formula Steel is proprietary, it is a specific blend and is heat treated in a very specific manner. The Rockwell hardness of all of our knives that use this steel (Pro, Professional "S", TWIN Signature, Four Star, Four Star II) is 57 HRC.
Answered by: Zwilling Customer Support
Date published: 2017-11-30

Warranty on this knife? The tip broke clean off mine (31021-200).

Asked by: Profarrell
All of our knives are warrantied for life. Please contact our Warranty departmet at (800) 777-4308 or by using the "Contact Us" link on this page.
Answered by: Zwilling Customer Support
Date published: 2017-11-30

I just purchased this knife, and it is probably the only knife that I will be using for most applications. I would like a solid way to keep this knife, as well as transport it places. Do you guys happen to sell a case for this knife, or recommend a roll?

Asked by: NMaxwell
We do not sell cases for any specific knives, though we do have a few storage and transport bags and rolls. http://www.zwillingonline.com/35002500.html http://www.zwillingonline.com/35004500.html http://www.zwillingonline.com/99000269.html
Answered by: Zwilling Customer Support
Date published: 2016-11-02

What is the difference between the Zwilling Pro 8" Traditional Chef Knife and the Zwilling Pro 8" Chef Knife. Also what does the price difference reflect? (more or less, or different materials used, more labor, etc?)

Asked by: Bennett
The difference between these two knives is in the blade shape, they both have the same bolster and are made from the same materials. The ZWILLING Pro 8" Chef's Knife has a unique blade shape. It has a less gradual curve, resulting in a a flatter heel. This allows for a hybrid use, almost like a cross between a santoku and a traditional chef's knife. The flatter area of the blade is great for chopping, while the more dramatic curve still allows for a traditional rocking motion and is also helpful for precise slicing. The Tradtional Chef's Knife is just that, a traditional blade shape, sometimes called a French style blade. It has a more gradual curve that works as an extension of your arm, allowing you to use a circular rocking motion when chopping or cutting. When deciding, it really comes down to preference. The ZWILLING Pro Chef's Knife is definitely the favorite around the office, however most people learn and hone their knife skills with a traditional blade shape, that is why we make both. The difference in price is only due to a season long sale (until the end of 2016). Normally they are the same price.
Answered by: Zwilling Customer Support
Date published: 2018-06-09
  • y_2020, m_3, d_28, h_15CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_3.0.5
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_7
  • loc_en_US, sid_38401-163, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_zwillingonline
  • bvseo_sdk, dw_cartridge, 17.1.0, p_sdk_3.2.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 142ms
  • questions, product